Hideout

Hideout

  • release platform: C64
  • format: multicolor bitmap
  • background : black
  • colors : 8
  • inspiration : a montage  i found
  • program used : Timanthes
  • released : #1 at Syntax 2013 oldschool gfx compo.

  • watch, comment and rate at ArtCity: link
  • watch, comment and rate at csdb: link

As said in the results post, this was done on short notice after re deciding to create something for the Syntax gfx competition. I had started working on it at Nordlicht 2013 demoparty, but due to the fact that I wasn’t able to work much on it with all the partying going on around me, this lay on my HD for quite some time and somehow I felt it did not go the way I wanted it to go. But when I decided to prepare something for Syntax, it was too late to start something from scratch, so there was the easy solution to finish this as good as I could and enter it to fill up the competition. I really liked the motif and what it said and I guess that did get transported despite the not so great quality or technique of the image. I guess I spent around 15  hours with it, so not that many as I did for other pictures. The fact that this was voted 1st place did surprise me a lot, because I did not have any hopes on this work whatsoever but to entertain the visitors a little more and broaden the release variety. Obviously a good choice of motif must add to the overall picture impression. Great! As usual, this was pixelled by hand from scratch in Timanthes. Workstages are included in the release file that will go up to csdb anytime soon. And yes, this can be seen as a continuation of the idea I used for my picture Protection.

Leave a comment