Lie down, I need to talk to you

Lie down, I need to talk to you

  • release platform: C64
  • format: multicolor bitmap (Koala)
  • background : black
  • colors : 10
  • reference : personal photograph
  • program used : Project One
  • released : 3rd at Art Engine 2012

  • watch, comment and rate at Artcity : link
  • watch comment and rate at CSDB: link
  • download release package : link

This is my third C64 pixel release and to make a long story short, it didn’t turned out the way I had it planned in the beginning. I had a personal photograph with a person I know on it, lying in her bed and I was eager to pixel it. But the first sheet version was totally awful, so I referenced it to another photograph. It turned out to look way better than the first one. Unfortunately the body didn’t. As beautiful as she is on the photograph, I wasn’t able to transfer that to the screen. I need to make myself more familiar with skin coloring and dithering. Funny thing, I gave her a little boob-job, not too much, but to make it look “more”. And of course she has no Onslaught tattoo on her belly. And furthermore, not taking the first sheet version resulted in a lack of perspective for the whole picture. Meh.

Since I talked a lot with Danguafer of Silexars, who was the organizer of Art Engine and I promised to support his party with releases, I decided to hand in this picture althoug I wasn’t and still am, not really happy with it. It was the only Oldschool pixelwork in the compo and I haven’t received any results yet. But as he said, the crowd did recognize the limitations of the machine this was done on.

Leave a comment