Preparing for the end of the year

There have been three music releases in 2015 for me. That is not quite as much as I hoped for, to be honest. So what else can I do than preparing something for the end of the year party called Under Construction, which will be held here in Germany. I will not attend myself, so my entry is going to be a remote one. Fingers crossed that it will pass the preselection. While it was long clear for me which song I wanted to enter, I encountered two problems, one familiar one and a new one. The new one is that I have two versions of the same track, the original and a remix I have done myself. So the first thing that I have to do is to decide which one I want to enter. They differ a lot in style and the original might not be as suitable for a demoparty as the remix version is, but it still is the original and by it, the way the song was meant to be in the first place. Since I am still undecided, I will have to ask my dear friend Virgill for his opinion on that matter. Luckily there is still more than enough time to get that problem sorted out. And right after I solved that one, the second and all too familiar problem comes around. The demoparty max length for a track is 4 minutes. Well, thats probably not correct. The song can be as long as you want, they will just fade out after 4 minutes. And with a lot of my tracks I have the “problem” that they are muck longer. This one for example is over six minutes. You know my point on song lenght, I guess, so I won’t go into that again here. But what that means is, I need to cut it to get through the song and have the listener experience at least all parts of it. For the actual example that means, cutting out a whole stanza, one refrain and a bridge. You probably won’t notice something is missing, since the development of the song is still there, but if you listen closely to the lyrics you will for sure realize that there is a huge plot hole ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad nobody has to jump. Even more glad that nobody listens to music competitions at demoparties anyways. Shame on you! Ok, I am obviously exaggerating ๐Ÿ™‚ Well, I will figure it out, sooner or later and then I will enter my track. If they do not show names on the bigscreen, there is a very simple way to find out which song is mine. It’s the one that feels misplaced and sounds very different from all otheres ;).

Leave a Reply

