Melancholia

Melancholia

  • release platform: C64
  • format: Multicolor
  • background : black
  • colors : 9
  • reference : a movie scene
  • program used : Project One
  • released : # at Datastorm 2013 C64 demo competition as part of the Onslaught demo Demolicious.

  • watch, comment and rate at Artcity : link
  • Demolicious at CSDB: link
  • Demolicious at Pouet: link

Good young and sexy Kirsten Dunst. I have been following her movies for quite some time and I am impressed by the way she played her chacaters and so it was mandatory for me to watch Melancholia, that Arthouse movie about the end of the world. Kirsten played a depressed bride and she did that with such an intensity that left me speechless a few times. To my surprise (and pleasure) she had her first full body nude scene in that movie and the moment I saw that scene, I knew I wanted to capture that in pixels. And so I did. This picture has been on my HD for quite some time now. In fact, it was my fourth pixelwork on the C64. I wanted to get away from all grey shading and at least try to keep the look from the movie a bit, so I went for this (admittedly unusual) palette. A lot of hours were put into this, starting from a simple outline of the head and body and then slowly filling the areas with color and last but not least adding some dithering. The reason why it has been unreleased for some time is that I always found it somehow unfinished because of the lack of background. But by the time I did this picture, I wasn’t able to capture the background of the movie scene and didn’t come up with something on my own. During the last weeks, when Algorithm asked me if he could use the picture for his demo, I tried several backgrounds like water and some stylistic patterns, but it all ruined the picture more than it helped. So I ultimately went with what I had. Things that I would have done different at the time were the eyes, the mouth and the hair in length. Those parts are the weak spots of this picture (I know many of you will say this whole thing is a weak spot, but not for me, I like it!). Nevertheless the boobs are fine and who cares for eyes anyway 😉 . On with the next picture.

Leave a Reply

