Life on Mars

Life on Mars

  • release platform: C64
  • format: multicolor bitmap (Koala)
  • background : light red
  • colors : 14
  • reference : girl: personal photograph, rest: many sunset pictures
  • program used : Project One
  • released : 5th at GubbData 2012

  • watch, comment and rate at Artcity : link
  • watch comment and rate at CSDB: link
  • download release package : link

This is my fourth C64 pixel release that has been on my HD for a while and GubbData seemed a good place to get it out. The girl in the picture is referenced to a personal photograph of a friend of mine and the background is inspired by many sunsets. I guess, they all look the same in some way. I consider this picture finished although now and then I get the feeling that I should have added something to the right side. Like a boat or something. But since this is the fourth picture I pixelled in my life, I consider it a training picture. The original idea was to have her sit on the beach, having a small boardwalk behind her, then a little beach and the sea, but my first steps with the boardwalk didn’t please me and I discarded the idea. Unfortunately that leaves the picture a little flat. I completely changed everything above the water later, because my idea of having open space with stars and another huge planet totally sucked, so I had to discard that, too. Finally I went for a sunset but I kept the name and its red tone to refer to Mars at least a little.

Leave a Reply

