Sailing into unknown waters

Yesterday i had my very first experience with 4klang. I don’t know if you’re familiar with it, if not simply follow the link to the hompage. For those of you who don’t want to read more than necessary, let me put it into one sentence. 4klang is a modular software synthesizer package intended to easily produce music for 4k intros and can be implemented in any music-making program that supports VSTi.
I installed it yesterday to check out if i am able to work with it, to be able to provide our coders with music for 4k intros or 64k intros in the long run. The implementation was astonishingly easy to do and recognizing that it behaves like any other VSTi appeased me a lot. I heard from a friend before that it is tricky, but i cannot confirm that regarding to the use of the synthesizer as as normal VSTi instrument.  I guess what he meant was the building and modifying of own instruments. And here comes the tricky part.
If you don’t want to use the same instruments over and over again, you are pretty much forced to grapple with it, because there is only a very limited amount of instruments provided with the VSTi itself. I haven’t done that until now and from what i saw in the first place, it is pretty heavy shit. All effects you want to have on an instrument have to be programmed in 4klang itself too, because you export your finished song directly out of the VST and not from your music-program. I will keep you informed about my experiences and my progress on that.
So i played around a bit with 4klang, first trying to import midi files extracted from old mods to equip with the new instruments, but that takes a lot more effort as i was willing to invest yesterday. I dropped those patterns and started from scratch, only with one instrument and my keyboard. Surprisingly, after a while of playing around i came up with a small idea which i from then gradually expanded to a small one minute first 4klang try called Projection. I think i will pursue that idea and bring it to a full track some day.

To sum it up, i would say, the 4klang beast has not shown his teeth yet!

Leave a Reply

